## MDC HOLDS RIBBON CUTTING FOR NORTH HARTFORD COMMUNITY OUTREACH OFFICE

Office to support \$170 Million Investment in Sewer Improvements

May 15, 2024 For Immediate Release

(HARTFORD, CT) – The Metropolitan District (MDC) held a ribbon cutting event for the North Hartford Community Outreach office located at 179 Barbour Street in Hartford earlier today. The purpose of the office is to provide MDC outreach staff with a location within the project area to engage with the community throughout the construction of the North Hartford Sewer Improvement Projects, an over \$170 million investment to upgrade the area's sewer infrastructure.

Construction, referred to as Phase I of the MDC's Integrated Plan with CT DEEP, began in July of 2023 and includes multiple sewer separation, rehabilitation and lining projects that upgrade the sewer infrastructure both in the street as well as private property improvements.

MDC has three active sewer separation projects currently underway in North Hartford on Durham Street, Woodstock and Branford Streets and Westland Street. In addition, sewer rehabilitation and lining projects are active in the Tower Avenue and Granby/Blue Hills areas with additional work scheduled to begin this year in the Gully Brook and North Meadows areas.

"I thank our Board of Commissioners, elected officials, regulators at CT DEEP and especially the members of the community for coming together to approve and begin \$170 million in improvements for North Hartford. This office is another way to communicate with our customers being affected by the work," said MDC Chairman Donald Currey.

MDC CEO Scott Jellison stated, "Maintaining a presence in our construction area with a neighborhood outreach office demonstrates MDC's commitment to rebuilding the infrastructure in North Hartford. I am particularly proud that we have been able to accomplish this with a 30% Hartford resident workforce goal."

About MDC: The MDC is a nonprofit municipal corporation chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1929. The MDC provides water, wastewater treatment and other services to its member towns: Bloomfield, East Hartford, Hartford, Newington, Rocky Hill, West Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor





