STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING The Metropolitan District March 27, 2024

PRESENT: Commissioners Kyle Anderson, John Avedisian, William DiBella, John Gale, Joan Gentile, James Healy, Allen Hoffman, Gary Johnson, Jacqueline Mandyck, Bhupen Patel, Pasquale J. Salemi, David Steuber, Alvin Taylor, and District Chairman Donald M. Currey (14)

REMOTE

- **ATTENDANCE:** Commissioners Andrew Adil and Byron Lester (2)
- ABSENT: Commissioners Richard Bush, Esther Clarke, Jean Holloway and Diane Lewis (4)

ALSO

PRESENT:Commissioner Dominic Pane
Scott W. Jellison, Chief Executive Officer
Christopher Stone, District Counsel
John S. Mirtle, District Clerk
Christopher Levesque, Chief Operating Officer
Kelly Shane, Chief Administrative Officer
Susan Negrelli, Director of Engineering (Remote Attendance)
Thomas Tyler, Director of Facilities
Carrie Blardo, Assistant to Chief Executive Officer (Remote Attendance)
Julie Price, Executive Assistant
Jacob Aviles, IT Consultant
Dylan Pecego, IT Consultant

CALL TO ORDER

District Counsel Christopher Stone called the meeting to order at 5:03 PM

PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATIVE TO AGENDA ITEMS

No one from the public appeared to be heard.

ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

District Counsel Stone called for the election of the Chairperson. Commissioner Mandyck placed Commissioner Joan Gentile's name in nomination, and the nomination was duly seconded.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were closed. Commissioner Joan Gentile was elected Chairperson of the Strategic Planning Committee for 2024 and 2025. Chairperson Gentile assumed the Chair.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON

Chairperson Gentile called for the election of the Vice Chairperson. Commissioner Gale placed Commissioner David Steuber's name in nomination, and the nomination was duly seconded.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were closed. Commissioner David Steuber was elected Vice Chairperson of the Strategic Planning Committee for 2024 and 2025.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF APRIL 18, 2023

On motion made by Commissioner DiBella and duly seconded, the meeting minutes of April 18, 2023 were approved. Commissioner Steuber abstained.

Commissioner Healy entered the meeting at 5:11 PM.

LAST STRATEGIC PLAN

Chairperson Gentile led a discussion amongst Committee members about the last strategic plan and a future strategic plan. They shared the factors they believe should be considered in creating a new strategic plan.

Commissioner Gale exited the meeting at 5:44 PM.

UPDATE ON MEMBER TOWN MEETINGS

Chief Executive Officer Scott Jellison updated the Committee on his meetings with member and non-member towns, including a Raw Water Master Plan presentation that was held on March 26th.

OPPORTUNITY FOR GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS

Judy Allen, of West Hartford, stated that what she believes to be above all importance is to be sure that we are all on the same page in terms of the mission statement. She stated that things have changed over the years, so it is important to make sure we are all rowing in the same direction. She hopes the MDC is open to listening to others in this process and that the MDC is often perceived as telling other people stuff and posing as the experts, not letting very much input from the outside. By listening, you will get a broader scope of information to work with.

COMMISSIONER REQUESTS FOR FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Commissioner Taylor would like to discuss the issue of how do we pay for this. He stated that however this is approached, we need to have difficult conversations, such as Hartford being the linchpin for all of this and different towns having different abilities in terms of financing. He said that Hartford often carries a big load, not just related to the MDC but with all programs in their community. He stated that anything that is laid out here in terms of a strategic plan will have a cost and have to be financed and the money will have to come from somewhere, so it is important to take a hard look at where the financing will come from.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 6:13 PM

ATTEST:

John S. Mirtle, Esq. District Clerk

Date of Approval