# COMMITTEE ON ORGANIZATION SPECIAL MEETING THE METROPOLITAN DISTRICT

555 Main Street, Hartford Wednesday, January 10, 2024

PRESENT: Commissioners John Bazzano, Avery Buell, Richard Bush, William

A. DiBella, John Gale, Diane Lewis, Byron Lester, Calixto Torres,

James Woulfe and District Chairman Donald Currey (10)

**REMOTE** 

**ATTENDANCE**: (0)

ABSENT: (0)

**ALSO** 

**PRESENT:** Citizen Member Awet Tsegai

Citizen Member Linda Russo (Remote Attendance)

Scott W. Jellison, Chief Executive Officer

Christopher Stone, District Counsel

John S. Mirtle, District Clerk

Christopher Levesque, Chief Operating Officer Kelly Shane, Chief Administrative Officer

Sue Negrelli, Director of Engineering

Robert Schwarm, Director of Information Technology

Tom Tyler, Director of Facilities

Nick Salemi, Communications Administrator Amanda Litvak, Professional Level Associate (IT)

Chris Taveras, Network Analyst Jeff King, Construction Manager

Rita Kelley, Equal Employment Opportunity Officer/Whistleblower

Coordinator

Carrie Blardo, Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer

Victoria Escoriza, Executive Assistant

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

District Counsel Christopher Stone called the meeting to order at 5:56 PM

#### **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

District Counsel Christopher Stone called for the election of the Chairman. Commissioner Bazzano placed Commissioner Avery Buell's name in nomination, Commissioner Bush seconded the nomination.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were closed. Commissioner Avery Buell was elected Chairman of the Committee on Organization for 2024 and 2025. Chairman Avery Buell assumed the Chair and thanked the Committee on Organization.

## **ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN**

Chairman Buell called for the election of the Vice Chairman. Commissioner Woulfe placed Commissioner John Gale's name in nomination, and the nomination was duly seconded.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were closed. Commissioner John Gale was elected Vice Chairman of the Committee on Organization for 2024 and 2025.

### **PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATIVE TO AGENDA ITEMS**

No one from the public appeared to be heard.

### **APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES**

On motion made by Commissioner DiBella and duly seconded, the meeting minutes of November 13, 2023 were approved.

Commissioners Bush, Lester and Torres abstained.

#### **APPOINTMENTS FOR THE YEARS 2024-2025**

To: Committee on Organization for consideration on January 10, 2024

It is recommended that it be:

Voted:

That pursuant to the Charter of The Metropolitan District, the Committee on Organization recommends to the District Board the following Citizen Members appointments for the years 2024-2025 and until their successors are appointed and qualified:

Drew Iacovazzi, West Hartford – Board of Finance Linda King-Corbin, Hartford – Board of Finance Linda Russo, East Hartford – Board of Finance Awet Tsegai, East Hartford – Board of Finance

### **Further**

## Voted:

That the Committee on Organization recommends to the District Board the following Bureau, Committee, and Board appointments for the years 2024 and 2025 and until their successors are appointed and qualified:

#### Water Bureau

Andrew Adil Diane Lewis

Kyle Anderson Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Clifford Avery Buell Jon Petoskey
Dimple Desai Pasquale Salemi
John Gale Alvin Taylor

Peter Gardow Michael Carrier of New Britain (Special Rep)

Georgiana Holloway

## **Bureau of Public Works**

John Avedisian Gary Johnson John Bazzano Byron Lester Maureen Magnan Richard Bush William A. DiBella **Dominic Pane** David Drake Bhupen Patel John Gale Pasquale Salemi Joan McCarthy Gentile **David Steuber** James Healey Alvin Taylor Calixto Torres Allen Hoffman Georgiana Holloway James Woulfe

#### **Board of Finance**

Andrew Adil Drew Iacovazzi (Citizen Member)
Allen Hoffman Linda A. King-Corbin (Citizen Member)

Pasquale Salemi Awet Tsegai (Citizen Member) Linda Russo (Citizen Member)

#### Personnel, Pension & Insurance Committee

John Avedisian
Dimple Desai
David Drake
Joan McCarthy Gentile
Byron Lester
Dominic Pane
Pasquale Salemi
David Steuber
Alvin Taylor
James Woulfe

Maureen Magnan

#### **Committee on MDC Government**

Kyle Anderson Georgiana Holloway
John Avedisian Maureen Magnan
John Bazzano Jon Petoskey
Clifford Avery Buell Calixto Torres

Peter Gardow James Woulfe

James Healy

Audit Committee

Andrew Adil Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Allen Hoffman Dominic Pane Georgiana Holloway David Steuber Diane Lewis Alvin Taylor

**Community Affairs** 

Kyle Anderson Diane Lewis

John Bazzano Maureen Magnan

Clifford Avery Buell Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Georgiana Holloway Calixto Torres

Byron Lester

Commission on Regional Planning

William A. DiBella Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Dimple Desai Bhupen Patel
David Drake Pasquale Salemi
Gary Johnson Alvin Taylor

**Strategic Planning Committee** 

Andrew Adil Gary Johnson
Kyle Anderson Diane Lewis
John Avedisian Byron Lester

Richard Bush Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

William DiBella Dominic Pane
John Gale Jon Petoskey
Joan McCarthy Gentile Bhupen Patel
James Healy Pasquale Salemi
Allen Hoffman David Steuber
Georgiana Holloway Alvin Taylor

**Committee on Technology** 

Andrew Adil Peter Gardow

Richard Bush Joan McCarthy Gentile William DiBella Pasquale Salemi

David Drake Alvin Taylor

Further Voted:

The Committee on Organization ratifies the following appointments by the District Chairman made in accordance with MDC Bylaws §§ B3m and B6h:

### **General Policy & Planning**

Andrew Adil
John Avedisian
William DiBella
Dimple Desai

Allen Hoffman
Bhupen Patel
Pasquale Salemi
Alvin Taylor

## **Ethics Advisory Board\***

Dimple Desai Peter Gardow (Alternate)

Bhupen Patel Joan McCarthy Gentile (Alternate)

James Woulfe

\*District Chairperson not an ex officio member.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott W. Jellison Chief Executive Officer

On motion made by Commissioner DiBella and duly seconded, the report was received and resolution adopted by unanimous vote of those present.

## **OPPORTUNITY FOR GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS**

No one from the public appeared to be heard.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 5:58 PM

ATTEST:

John S. Mirtle, Esq. District Clerk

Date of Approval