

COMMITTEE ON ORGANIZATION SPECIAL MEETING WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 10, 2024 5:35 PM

Location

Board Room District Headquarters 555 Main Street, Hartford

Dial in #: (415)-655-0001 Access Code: 2300 480 4070#

Meeting Video Link

Commissioners

Bazzano Lewis Buell Lester Bush **Torres** DiBella Woulfe

Gale

Quorum: 5

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. **ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON**
- 3. **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON**
- **PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATIVE TO AGENDA ITEMS** 4.
- APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 13, 2023 5.
- CONSIDERATION AND POTENTIAL ACTION RE: APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONERS TO 6. COMMITTEES FOR 2024 & 2025
- 7. OPPORTUNITY FOR GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS
- 8. **ADJOURNMENT**

APPOINTMENTS FOR THE YEARS 2024-2025

To: Committee on Organization for consideration on January 10, 2024

It is recommended that it be:

Voted: That pursuant to the Charter of The Metropolitan District, the Committee on

Organization recommends to the District Board the following Citizen Members appointments for the years 2024-2025 and until their successors

are appointed and qualified:

Drew Iacovazzi, West Hartford – Board of Finance Linda King-Corbin, Hartford – Board of Finance Linda Russo, East Hartford – Board of Finance Awet Tsegai, East Hartford – Board of Finance

Further Voted:

That the Committee on Organization recommends to the District Board the following Bureau, Committee, and Board appointments for the years 2024 and 2025 and until their successors are appointed and qualified:

Water Bureau

Andrew Adil Diane Lewis

Kyle Anderson Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Clifford Avery Buell Jon Petoskey

Dimple Desai Pasquale Salemi

John Gale Alvin Taylor

Peter Gardow Michael Carrier of New Britain (Special Rep)

Georgiana Holloway

Bureau of Public Works

John Avedisian Gary Johnson John Bazzano Byron Lester Maureen Magnan Richard Bush William A. DiBella **Dominic Pane** David Drake Bhupen Patel Pasquale Salemi John Gale Joan McCarthy Gentile **David Steuber** James Healev Alvin Taylor Allen Hoffman Calixto Torres Georgiana Holloway James Woulfe

Board of Finance

Andrew Adil Drew Iacovazzi (Citizen Member)

Allen Hoffman Linda A. King-Corbin (Citizen Member)

Pasquale Salemi Awet Tsegai (Citizen Member) Linda Russo (Citizen Member)

Personnel, Pension & Insurance Committee

John Avedisian
Dimple Desai
David Drake
Joan McCarthy Gentile
Byron Lester
Dominic Pane
Pasquale Salemi
David Steuber
Alvin Taylor
James Woulfe

Maureen Magnan

Committee on MDC Government

Kyle Anderson Georgiana Holloway
John Avedisian Maureen Magnan
John Bazzano Jon Petoskey
Clifford Avery Buell Calixto Torres
Peter Gardow James Woulfe

James Healy

Audit Committee

Andrew Adil Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Allen Hoffman Dominic Pane Georgiana Holloway David Steuber Diane Lewis Alvin Taylor

Community Affairs

Kyle Anderson Diane Lewis

John Bazzano Maureen Magnan

Clifford Avery Buell Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Dimple Desai Calixto Torres

Georgiana Holloway

Commission on Regional Planning

William A. DiBella Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

Dimple Desai Bhupen Patel

David Drake Pasquale Salemi
Gary Johnson Alvin Taylor

Strategic Planning Committee

Andrew Adil Gary Johnson

Kyle Anderson Diane Lewis
John Avedisian Byron Lester

Richard Bush Jackie Gorsky Mandyck

William DiBella Dominic Pane
John Gale Jon Petoskey
Joan McCarthy Gentile Bhupen Patel
James Healy Pasquale Salemi
Allen Hoffman David Steuber
Georgiana Holloway Alvin Taylor

Committee on Technology

Andrew Adil Peter Gardow

Richard Bush Joan McCarthy Gentile

William DiBella Pasquale Salemi David Drake Alvin Taylor

Further Voted:

The Committee on Organization ratifies the following appointments by the District Chairman made in accordance with MDC Bylaws §§ B3m and B6h:

General Policy & Planning

Andrew Adil
John Avedisian
William DiBella
Dimple Desai

Allen Hoffman
Bhupen Patel
Pasquale Salemi
Alvin Taylor

Ethics Advisory Board*

Dimple Desai Peter Gardow (Alternate)

Bhupen Patel Joan McCarthy Gentile (Alternate)

James Woulfe

*District Chairperson not an ex officio member.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott W. Jellison

Chief Executive Officer

COMMITTEE ON ORGANIZATION SPECIAL MEETING THE METROPOLITAN DISTRICT

555 Main Street, Hartford Monday, November 13, 2023

PRESENT: Commissioners C. Avery Buell, Donald Currey, Peter Gardow, Allen

Hoffman, Jackie Mandyck, Alvin Taylor and District Chairman

William A. DiBella (7)

REMOTE

ATTENDENCE: (0)

ABSENT: Commissioners John Gale, Diane Lewis and James Woulfe (3)

ALSO

PRESENT: Commissioner John Avedisian

Commissioner Joan Gentile (Remote Attendance)

Commissioner Jean Holloway Commissioner Bhupen Patel Commissioner Jon Petoskey

Christopher Stone, District Counsel

John Mirtle, District Clerk

Chris Levesque, Chief Operating Officer (Remote Attendance)

Kelly Shane, Chief Administrative Officer Susan Negrelli, Director of Engineering

Carrie Blardo, Executive Assistant to the CEO Dylan Pecego, IT Administrator (Remote Attendance)

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Avery Buell called the meeting to order at 4:33 PM

PUBLIC COMMENTS RELATIVE TO AGENDA ITEMS

No one from the public appeared to be heard.

APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

On motion made by District Chairman DiBella and duly seconded, the meeting minutes of May 1, 2023 were approved.

COMMITTEE ON MDC GOVERNMENT MEMBERSHIP

To: Committee on Organization for consideration on November 13, 2023

WHEREAS, District Bylaw B3i states: "The Committee on MDC Government shall consist of twelve Commissioners of the District."

WHEREAS, at the January 4, 2023 Committee on Organization and District Board meetings, Commissioner Dimple Desai was appointed to the Committee on MDC Government as the tenth member of the Committee on MDC Government.

WHEREAS, at the February 13, 2023 Committee on Organization meeting, the Committee voted to appoint Commissioners Kyle Anderson, John Bazzano and David Steuber to the Committee on MDC Government.

It is RECOMMENDED that it be:

Voted: That the Committee on Organization approve the following

resolution:

BE IT

RESOLVED The February 13, 2023 appointments of Kyle Anderson and John

Bazzano to the Committee on MDC Government are hereby ratified as the eleventh and twelfth members of the Committee on MDC

Government:

BE IT FURTHER

RESOLVED The February 13, 2023 appointment of David Steuber to the

Committee on MDC Government was and is null and void because it exceeded the size limit of the Committee on MDC Government set

by District Bylaw B3i.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott W. Jellison Chief Executive Officer

On motion made by District Chairman DiBella and duly seconded, the report was received and resolution adopted by unanimous vote of those present.

2024 COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Buell led discussion regarding considerations for Commissioner appointments to committees.

OPPORTUNITY FOR GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS

Judy Allen, of West Hartford, stated that she thinks there is some value in limiting how many committees a Commissioner can sit on, as it can end up lopsided. She also suggested that there be a limit set on the number of committees on which a Commissioner can be Chair or Vice Chair.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:23 PM

ATTEST:	
John S. Mirtle, Esq. District Clerk	Date of Approval