COMMUNITY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The Metropolitan District

555 Main Street, Hartford Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Present: Commissioners Mary Anne Charron, Janice Flemming, Georgiana Holloway,

Maureen Magnan, Thea Montanez, Maureen Magnan, Albert F. Reichin, Helene

Shay, Raymond Sweezy and District Chairman William A. DiBella (10)

Absent: Commissioners Kennard Ray and Hector M. Rivera (2)

Also

Present: Charles P. Sheehan, Chief Executive Officer

Scott W. Jellison, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Engineering & Operations

R. Bartley Halloran, District Counsel

Christopher R. Stone, Assistant District Counsel

John S. Mirtle, District Clerk

Nick Salemi, Special Services Administrator Julie McLaughlin, Special Services Administrator

Kerry E. Martin, Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer

Cynthia A. Nadolny, Executive Assistant

CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Thea Montanez called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM

APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

On motion made by Commissioner Shay and duly seconded, the meeting minutes of April 22, 2014 were approved.

Commissioner Magnan abstained from voting.

The Committee discussed the creation of a Diversity Subcommittee and Chairperson Montanez appointed Commissioners Thea Montanez, Albert Reichin, Kennard Ray and Hector Rivera to serve on the Diversity Subcommittee.

Commissioners Flemming and Holloway entered the meeting at 4:38 PM.

Julie McLaughlin briefed the committee on internal MDC communications and community affairs initiatives.

ADJOURNMENT

| The meeting was adjourned at 5: | 07 PM |
|--|---------------|
| ATTEST: | |
| John S. Mirtle, Esq. District Clerk | Date Approved |